Maths

“The most important thing about maths is not to be afraid.”

Mathematics is a universal language and it is our vision at Trafalgar School to ensure all students become fluent in the mathematics that they need to be successful in their future lives. 

We aim to do this through a balanced and varied curriculum which allows students to build upon what they have previously been taught and exposes them to both the fundamentals of mathematics and more complex concepts over time. This will allow students to develop their conceptual understanding of mathematics and their ability to recall and apply their knowledge rapidly and accurately.

Our aim is that students will be able to problem solve by applying mathematics to a variety of routine and non-routine problems, with increasing sophistication; breaking down problems into a series of simpler steps and persevering in seeking solutions in order to promote independence, resilience and perseverance.

As a department we will ensure that lessons are inclusive for all of our students' needs: with support being given to those that need it and challenge to those that grasp concepts rapidly. 

We wish for all students to develop a passion for mathematics that continues throughout their school life and beyond.

Key Stage 3: 

 

Assessment Window

Assessment Type / Topic

Year 7

25th April – 6th May 2022

 

Landmark assessment

Cumulative assessment of topics studied this year

Year 8

25th April – 6th May 2022

 

Landmark assessment

Cumulative assessment of topics studied this year

Year 9

13th - 24th June 2022

 

Landmark assessment

Past GCSE exam paper

1 non calculator exam paper, 2 calculator exam papers

 

Key Stage 4:

GCSE Mathematics  – https://qualifications.pearson.com/en/qualifications/edexcel-gcses/mathematics-2015.html

 

Assessment Window

Assessment Type / Topic

Year 10

13th - 24th June 2022

 

Landmark assessment

Past GCSE exam paper

1 non calculator exam paper, 2 calculator exam papers

Year 11

from 13th May 2022

 

GCSE Exams begin

Paper 1 20th May Non-Calculator

Paper 2  7th June Calculator

Paper 3 13th June Calculator

At KS3 students are expected to complete one piece of maths home learning each week that should take up to 30 minutes to complete.

This may be using an online platform, or a written piece of homework.

Online home learning may be set on the following:

https://hegartymaths.com/

https://vle.mathswatch.co.uk/vle/

https://www.mathspad.co.uk/

KS4 students are also expected to complete one piece of home learning each week that should take up to 60 minutes to complete.

This may be using an online platform, or a written piece of homework.

Online home work may be set on the following:

https://hegartymaths.com/

https://vle.mathswatch.co.uk/vle/

https://www.mathspad.co.uk/

Home learning will build in directed revision tasks as students prepare for upcoming exams.

Welcome to mathematics at Trafalgar School! 

I am proud to be the Director of Mathematics, working with a fantastic team of staff to deliver the absolute best mathematics curriculum for our students. We are all passionate mathematicians and believe that, with the right support, inspiration and motivation, all students can access and succeed in mathematics.

Through our curriculum we aim to expose students to new concepts and ways of thinking that allows them to apply their mathematical knowledge to a range of problems both inside and outside of the classroom. We want to ensure that our students leave Trafalgar with the key skills they need to be mathematically successful in their life beyond secondary school.

 

Claire Parsons (Director of Mathematics)  cparsons@trafalgarschool.org.uk 

Carrie Alexander (Lead Practitioner)  calexander@trafalgarschool.org.uk

Amber Hodge (Second in Department) ahodge@trafalgarschool.org.uk

Lyn Charleston lcharleston@trafalgarschool.org.uk

Thalia Bothma-Lubbe tbothma@trafalgarschool.org.uk

Julie Smith jsmith@trafalgarschool.org.uk

Sarah Brockwell sbrockwell@trafalgarschool.org.uk

Mark Cathie mcathie@trafalgarschool.org.uk

Ellie Potter epotter@trafalgarschool.org.uk

Chris Furnell cfurnell@trafalgarschool.org.uk